Panels are at various locations: the Malco, the Gertrude Ford Center for the Performing Arts, and the Powerhouse Community Arts Center. See description for time and location. All are made free as part of the OxFilm Society and Mississippi Film Alliance.


1:30-4:30 p.m. (includes Fest Forward Experimental films for first 2 hours)

Media Arts Panel

Location: Powerhouse Community Arts Center

The Media Arts Panel invites both filmmakers from the Fest Forward category and artists from the Media Arts Exhibit to discuss the role that media plays in their creative practice.  Panel members will also address advantages, challenges, and techniques used when communicating to their viewers through methods beyond traditional storytelling.

Media Arts Exhibit: Silent Reflections Reception

430-530 pm


Location: Powerhouse

Rebecca Adorno, Rebekah Flake, Desiree Dawn Kapler, Brooke White, and Reiko Yamada collaborating with Carolyn Drake

An exhibit dedicated to various manifestations of story telling told through various forms of media by artists spanning the mediums of photography, video, sound, and performance.  Many of the "stories" stem from the artists personal experiences with regard to their own geographical origins. The art show runs from Thursday until Feb. 26.

Grahame Weinbren will also be performing "Letters" during the reception.

A menu of 25 alphabet letters in a 5 X 5 grid is on screen. Members of the audience are invited to shout out a letter. Each letter is connected with a one minute film.  I act as MC and communicate the choice to the projectionist, who operates a custom JAVA program to bring up the film connected to the chosen letter. After the film is shown, that letter is no longer available. I am always adding and subtracting material to this piece, so each performance is a premiere of the most recent version.

6:00 to 7:00 p.m.


Thacker Mountain Radio Hour

Location: Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts

The Thacker Mountain Radio Hour is a weekly live radio show featuring author readings and a wide array of musical performances from the Courthouse Square in Oxford, Mississippi. The free show is taped and broadcast every Thursday at 6:00 p.m. during the fall and spring and rebroadcast every Saturday at 7 pm on Mississippi Public Broadcasting.


FRIDAY, FEB 8, 2019

9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

My First Film With Zia Anger

Malco Screen 5

Zia Angers short films have premiered at the New York Film Festival (My Last Film, 2015) and Locarno (I Remember Nothing, 2015). She has directed music videos for an impressive roster of artists including Angel Olsen, Mitski, Beach House, Zola Jesus and Jenny Hval, who with whom she has also toured and performed. She was named one of Filmmaker Magazines 25 New Faces of Independent Film in 2015. Selective Memory presents an evening with Zia Anger, during which she will perform live commentary on her lost, abandoned, and previously unseen works, including her unreleased first feature.

2 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Short Screenplay Winner Live Reading


Join the filmmaker and local actors with Ghostlight Repertory Theatre and Theatre Oxford to hear the winning screenplay and enjoy cocktails.


Join the female filmmakers in attendance to discuss filmmaking.

Moderated by Robbie Fisher

Robbie Fisher is a film producer and attorney based in Water Valley, Mississippi. Fisher has produced award-winning documentaries including Boogaloo & Eden: Sustaining the Sound, The Gulf Islands: Mississippi’s Wilderness Shore, Delta 180: Changing Lives in the Mississippi Delta, Leadway, and A Mississippi Love Story. She has produced a number of short narrative films, including Going Toward Love and Headrush, and a series of four short films written and directed by Alex Warren, collectively entitled Sequence.  Fisher has also produced commercials and worked on feature films in Mississippi including As I Lay Dying, Starve and, most recently, Thrasher Road. Currently Fisher is producing a short film in collaboration with writer / director John Bateman of Starkville.

11:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. (includes block of short films for first 90 min.)



Malco Screen 1

Join film students, filmmakers, and film faculty for a frank discussion of film programs and how to make the most of them.

Gabriel furman.jpg

Noon to 1 p.m. (includes lunch from Domino’s Pizza)


Oxford Conference Center

(For Kid Film Fest Passholders only)

Based on Long Form Improv from both Upright Citizens Brigade, The PIT NYC and Actors Studio training, this workshop helps the “player” (because what we do as actors should be fun and playful) find the truth of what is happening and develop a character with their scene partner. More and more Casting Directors require an actor to  be able to “IMPROV” and this will help with the basics. All and all it sparks creativity and is some of the funnest acting exercises you can do.


Workshop host:

Kathie Fong Yoneda

Congratulations! You finally finished that story or screenplay that you’ve been working on!!! But what do you do next?

* How do you get your work noticed?

* Do you have to move to Hollywood or New York to get an agent or manager?

* Is it worth entering a writing competition?

* What resources are available to help move your writing career forward?

These subjects and more will be addressed by our panelists to help you create the opportunities you need to move you and your work forward!

3-5 p.m. (feature film for first hour)


Body & Soul

Location: Malco Screen 1

Join the filmmaker along with special guests for a discussion Body & Soul.

Out of all the cross-cultural encounters that have resulted in the richness of American popular music, none has been so prominent or so fraught with fraternity and conflict as the relationships between African Americans and American Jews. Body and Soul: An American Bridge aims to tease out the strands of this cultural knot by focusing on the early performance history of the jazz standard, “Body and Soul.” The panel is sponsored by Mississippi Humanities Council and The Jewish Federation of Oxford.

All panels are free courtesy of OxFilm Society.

For past panels, visit us on Youtube: